Growing the arts and music education in the country


Music education remains an important way to engage rural and Indigenous young people with learning, and to support the future aspirations of talented young rural musicians.

Regional Conservatoriums in NSW were established in the late 1970s, starting from modest beginnings in Bathurst to become a network of  Conservatoriums servicing most of NSW's regional centres. In a program unique to New South Wales, they are funded by the NSW Government to provide the necessary leadership, resources and expertise to deliver accessible, high  quality, life-long music learning for people living outside the major metropolitan centres.

As a regional university that recognises the importance of equitable access to education for rural people, Charles Sturt University took a leading role in working with its local campus communities to support the establishment of regional conservatoriums in Albury and Wagga Wagga.

This included providing access to University buildings, staff expertise and funding to help the conservatorium to become self-sustaining providers of high quality music education for their respective communities.

As the University grew, it expanded its support to conservatoriums in Dubbo and Orange through the provision of a special conservatorium funding program. In 2014, the University will expand access to small grant funding to a wide range of arts, culture and music institutions through its Rural and Regional Arts and Culture Program to continue our tradition of seed funding new artistic initiatives and opportunities for our regions.


Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst, Dubbo, Orange, Wagga Wagga

Lead Centre

Office of Corporate Affairs


  • Macquarie Conservatorium
  • Dubbo Macquarie Philharmonic Mitchell Conservatorium
  • Bathurst Murray Conservatorium
  • Albury-Wodonga Orange Regional Conservatorium
  • Orange Riverina Conservatorium, Wagga Wagga


  • 1989 -